Theatrical performance: Minä maalaan teidät kaikki


A theatrical performance about Helene Schjerfbeck at the Ateneum Hall. The play is written by Iida Hämeen-Anttila, directed by Kati Outinen, and the roles are played by Kati Outinen and Annatuuli Saine.

Minä maalaan teidät kaikki (‘I will paint all of you’) is a play about the painter Helene Schjerfbeck. It is a dialogue about being an artist. In the play, the dialogue takes place between an actor and a dancer. What in Helene’s paintings is a line or brushstroke is a movement, sound or word in the performance. On stage, we see Helene at the different stages of her career, with her self-portraits, and an Admirer, who is contemplating her relationship with Helene’s art and her legacy.

This light and profound play, which powerfully challenges both the senses and the emotions, gets down to the nitty-gritty of being and working as an artist: its challenges, sources of inspiration and personal victories, which are often something quite different from what the world sees as victories.

Text and dramaturgy: Iida Hämeen-Anttila
Direction: Kati Outinen
Choreography: Annatuuli Saine
Performers: Kati Outinen and Annatuuli Saine
Light and sound design: Saku Kaukiainen
Stage design, props and costumes: team

The performances coincide with the run of the exhibition Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck. Duration 1.5 hours. In Finnish. The play premiered on 23 February 2019 at Teatteri Jurkka.

Performances

Tue 3 Dec, 18:00
Wed 4 Dec, 20:00
Thu 5 Dec, 20:00
Sat 7 Dec, 17:00
Tue 10Dec, 18:00
Ons 11 Dec, 20:00
Thu 12 Dec, 20:00 *
Fri 13 Dec, 18:00
Sat 14 Dec, 17:00
Thu 9 Jan, 20:00
Fri 10 Jan 18:00
Sat 11 Jan 17:00
Tue 14 Jan, 18:00
Wed 15 Jan, 20:00
Thu 16 Jan, 20:00
Fri 17 Jan, 18:00

Tickets: €42/€40/€38/€26 (+ €1 service charge) from the Ateneum online shop.

The personal assistant of a disabled or a visually challenged person gets a free ticket. Unfortunately, you cannot book a ticket for a personal assistant from the online shop: please notify Ateneum info in advance about a personal assistant; tel. +358 294 500 401 or ainfo@ateneum.fi.

* The performance on 12 December will be audio-described in Finnish. The audio-described performance includes special narration of the play, designed specifically for the visually impaired.

Photo: Marko Mäkinen