Ateneum Club X We Jazz

Ateneum club nights are small-scale and intimate gigs at the Ateneum Bistro. The series of club nights in the spring will be co-produced with We Jazz. This record label and festival, known as a pioneer of Finnish jazz, presents a series of top, current jazz acts from its roster of published artists.

Club nights are held from 19:00 to 21:00, with showtime at 20:00.

Tickets, €20 (normal) / €15 (students), are available from the online shop. The ticket includes admission to the exhibitions. Tickets can also be bought at the door before the show, subject to availability. When you arrive at the Ateneum, show your ticket at the ticket office or the museum shop, and you will receive a free pass to the exhibitions. Your free pass will be valid until the end of 2019.

Wed 20 Mar OK:KO

Led by the drummer Okko Saastamoinen, OK:KO is a quartet that includes some of the most respected younger-generation jazz musicians. The original compositions and the strong distinctive voices of the soloists make the band one of the mightiest forces in new Finnish jazz. OK:KO’s second record, Syrtti, will see the light of day on 22 February, conveniently before the Ateneum gig.

Okko Saastamoinen, drums / Jarno Tikka, saxophone / Toomas Keski-Säntti, piano / Mikael Saastamoinen, bass

Photo of OK:KO: Pietari Purovaara

Wed 17 Apr Duo Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen

The saxophonist Timo Lassy and the drummer Teppo Mäkynen will present their explosive new duo in the spring of 2019. They will release a new seven-inch single, followed by a full-length album, and at the Ateneum show, this star duo of Finnish jazz will be playing their fresh material for the first time.

Timo Lassy, saxophone / Teppo Mäkynen, drums

Photo: Maarit Kytöharju

Wed 15 May Alder Ego

Led by the drummer Joonas Leppänen, Alder Ego is a band that released its acclaimed album “II” on the We Jazz label in October 2018. Leppänen’s reflective compositions and the overall sound of the tight-knit and musically adventurous quartet are an unbeatable combination. It is no wonder, then, that the popular international radio channels BBC3 and KEXP, for example, have embraced the record and added it to their playlists.

Joonas Leppänen, drums / Jarno Tikka, saxophone / Tom Nikku, trumpet / Teemu Åkerblom, bass

Photo: Mathias Foster

Previous artists

19.12.2018 Astrid Swan
12.12.2018 Kanerva
31.10.2018 Lau Nau
6.6.2018 Pesso
16.5.2018 Onni Boi
11.4.2018 Cledos
28.3.2018 M
14.2.2018 Vesta
24.1.2018 IBE